Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



THE HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI HOTELS, LIMITED 香港上海大酒店有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock Code: 00045)

Discloseable Transaction Proposed Hotel Development in Istanbul, Turkey

Reference is made to the announcements made by The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited ("HSH") on 7 July 2015, 23 December 2015, 30 June 2016 and 25 August 2016 (the "Announcements") in respect of the development of certain buildings at Salipazari, Istanbul into a luxury hotel (the "Proposed Hotel Development") and the extension of long stop date respectively.

As stated in the Announcements, a shareholders' agreement (the "Shareholders' Agreement") was entered into by HSH and its indirect wholly-owned subsidiary, Peninsula Istanbul Holdings AG, Salıpazarı Liman İşletmeciliği ve Yatırımları A.Ş., Doğuş Holding A.Ş. and BLG Gayrimenkul Yatırımları ve Ticaret A.Ş., for the Proposed Hotel Development. Under the Shareholders' Agreement, certain conditions must be met or waived on or before the long stop date (the "Long Stop Date") before the parties will proceed with the Proposed Hotel Development. The Long Stop Date, which may be extended by the parties in writing, was extended to 31 December 2016.

The Board of Directors of HSH is pleased to announce that all conditions under the Shareholders' Agreement have either been met or waived. The Proposed Hotel Development would proceed in accordance with the Shareholders' Agreement as disclosed in the announcement on 7 July 2015.

By order of the Board
Christobelle Liao
Company Secretary

30 December 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of HSH comprises the following Directors:

Non-Executive Chairman The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie

Non-Executive Deputy Chairman Andrew Clifford Winawer Brandler

Executive Directors

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Clement King Man Kwok

Chief Operating Officer
Peter Camille Borer

Chief Financial Officer
Matthew James Lawson

Non-Executive Directors

Ronald James McAulay William Elkin Mocatta John Andrew Harry Leigh Nicholas Timothy James Colfer

Independent Non-Executive Directors

Dr the Hon. Sir David Kwok Po Li Patrick Blackwell Paul

Pierre Roger Boppe Dr William Kwok Lun Fung Dr Rosanna Yick Ming Wong Dr Kim Lesley Winser